Blur announce new album “The Ballad of Darren”

blur will release their first album in 8 years, titled ‘The Ballad of Darren’ on 21st July on Parlophone.

‘The Ballad of Darren’ is the band’s ninth studio album, their first since the chart-topping ‘The Magic Whip’ in 2015 and it comprises of 10 new tracks.
First track “The Narcissist” is out now, watch visualiser

Damon Albarn said – This is an aftershock record, reflection and comment on where we find ourselves now.”

Graham Coxon said – “The older and madder we get, it becomes more essential that what we play is loaded with the right emotion and intention. Sometimes just a riff doesn’t do the job.”

Alex James said – “For any long term relationship to last with any meaning you have to be able to surprise each other somehow and somehow we all continue to do that.”

Dave Rowntree said – “It always feels very natural to make music together. With every record we do, the process reveals something new and we develop as a band. We don’t take that for granted.”

‘The Ballad of Darren’ will be available as a Digital Download & Stream (10 tracks as above); Standard CD (10 tracks) and Deluxe CD (12 tracks, w. expanded packaging), Standard Vinyl LP – 12″ heavyweight black vinyl; and – exclusive to – Deluxe Vinyl pressed on 12″ clear vinyl with black swirls, in a gatefold sleeve, with poster, bonus 7″ vinyl, album CD (12 tracks) and integrated booklet, including exclusive handwritten notes, sketches and lyrics; and Cassette (10 tracks).


The complete tracklisting for ‘The Ballad of Darren’ is:

  1. The Ballad 

  2. St Charles Square

  3. Barbaric

  4. Russian Strings

  5. The Everglades (For Leonard)

  6. The Narcissist 

  7. Goodbye Albert

  8. Far Away Island

  9. Avalon

  10. The Heights

featured image by Reuben Bastienne-Lewis